Chatting with God

Dear God
I’m not really feeling on my game today. I’m kind of moody, overtired and very unmotivated. I figured since I work so hard every other day that I deserve to take a day off today. Besides, you have millions of other people working for you that can pick up my slack. How would you feel about me calling in sick today?
– Jen.

Dear Jen,
That’s funny. I was just thinking that since I work so hard every day that I deserve to take a day off today, too. Besides, there are other people that can take over and pick up the slack for me. How would you feel about ME calling in sick today?
– God

Dear God,
On second thought, I don’t think it’s a good idea for either one of us to call in sick. Even though I’ve run the show without you before, things go a lot smoother with you in charge. Maybe we could both show up and tough it out together. What do you think?
– Jen

Dear Jen,
I like your attitude. As long as you’re willing to do your part, I promise to show up and do mine. Now, let’s get to work.
– God

 

Exodus 23 25 Square

About Jennifer Wilson

Fumbling through recovery, faith and mental illness with God and lots of coffee
This entry was posted in daily bread. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you!

